Scott Richardson has more than 30 years of experience working in journalism, film, television and public affairs for nationally known media outlets, corporations and organizations in New York, Washington and the Midwest.

Richardson is a producer of filmmaker Kevin Willmott’s independent features The Only Good Indian, starring Wes Studi (Avatar, Last of the Mohicans), which premiered at The Sundance Film Festival,The Battle for Bunker Hill, starring James McDaniel (NYPD Blue) and Saeed Jaffrey (Gandhi), which won Best Picture at The Hoboken Film Festival and is being released by New World Distribution, Destination: Planet Negro! and the recently released Jayhawkers.

For television, Richardson has produced three History Channel specials: High-Tech Lincoln, about the new Lincoln Presidential Library; The Mystery of Jesse James, the pilot episode for the Bill Kurtis series Investigating History; and Inside The Presidency: Eisenhower Vs. Nixon, narrated by Roger Mudd.  For The Dole Institute of Politics, he produced two hour-long specials hosted by Bill Kurtis that aired on PBS stations.

From 1990 until 1995, Richardson worked at A&E Television Networks, where he was Vice President, Public Affairs and Communications and helped launch The History Channel.  From 1988 until the end of 1990, he was with ABC News in New York, first on the staff of World News Tonight with Peter Jennings, and later as Manager, News Information.

From 1979 until 1988, Richardson worked in Washington DC.  He served for six years on the staff of U.S. Senator Bob Dole, and for three years as a media consultant.

He has also written and consulted for a wide range of companies and organizations including A&E Network, The Eisenhower Presidential Center, Bill Kurtis Productions, Southwestern Bell / SBC, Lifetime Television, AMC, We TV, Court TV, and with environmental artist Stan Herd.   As a free-lance writer, his work has been published in The New York Times Magazine.

During the fall semester of 2006, Richardson was a Fellow at The University of Kansas’ Dole Institute of Politics.  He is former member of The Kansas Film Commission, the board of The Americana Music Academy, The Cable Television Public Affairs Association and The National Cooperative Business Foundation.